Why do I hate Sunday mornings?

8 07 2009

It wasn’t used to be like that…

Sunday mornings where the best moments in the week for me… Sleeping late, having lunch with my family if I was with them, relaxing, watching TV… Well… I am in Ghana now and I can tell you for sure that it isn’t going to be like that for me any more…

If you wonder why, the answer is quite simple… I have the misfortune to live near a church. Every Sunday from 9 to 12 people are praying in the church, singing and yelling and I feel like I am in the middle of a rock concert, in the first row. And when I say yelling, I mean really yelling!!! Or maybe roaring and howling are better words that describe what I heard. And they have these loudspeakers, to make sure that the entire city is hearing them…

I woke up scared because I wasn’t sure what was happening… well from now on I will know, and I hope I will be able to keep my sanity!!! Don’t understand me wrong… I don’t have a problem with religion and other people beliefs. I admire people that go to church every week, believe in good and in God, it doesn’t really matter which God. But I admire them when they don’t disturb my peace of mind. Everyone makes choices. Well not this time. It is not my choice to listen to the Sunday morning prayers. In Romania, police would come and arrest them for disturbing the public peace, in Accra I guess it’s something normal!

I asked Mr. Roger (the care taker) what was going on, and he says that we cannot do anything to make them decrease the volume. If we go there, they will say that we are the Devil representatives.  Me – the devils representative? Come on! I was furious. Adaptation in Ghana isn’t easy, and the fact that I am leaving near a church isn’t helping much…

Anyway, next weekend I am leaving for a short trip, so I won’t hear the Sunday Church Meeting 🙂 Thank you God for taking care of me… I promise I will never complain again in Romania 🙂

Me adapting!

PS: My grandmother was always complaining that I don’t go to church enough… I guess her dream came true… This is like going to church every week… even if the religion is a different one, God might be the same, right? 😛

Actions

Information

4 responses

9 07 2009
Lucian

You don’t go to church, so the church came to you muhahahhaha 🙂

10 07 2009
alexandrabirladianu

:D, I am glad that some people are happy for me 😛

10 07 2009
Mariana Calin

It seems very disturbing indeed…
Let’s look at the good side (if we might say so)…this means that you will have to find something to do every Sunday morning in order not to stay at home 😀

So, you might just enjoy your outdoor weekends 🙂

Sending you a huge Romanian hug 🙂
Mariana

29 06 2010
Dear Ghana II « AlexandraBirladianu's Blog

[…] The church every Sunday morning… the first Sunday was the worse… Learning how to negotiate, being robbed, watching men peeing on the street, falling in love with the country, getting Malaria, getting Malaria for a second time… William, Sahil, Tanja, dear Ivan, Brenda and Carla, Lisa, Paula, Esther, Lorena, Bobi, Silviu and Petra, Raluca, Radek, Ryan,Petr, Federica and Federico, Mike,  Big Mike, Darius… OMG… so many wonderful wonderful people… Sushil and Vivek… my great colleagues from work, Richmond, Reggie, Mr. Andoh, Clement, Davis, Gigi and Frimps… and the great friend that encouraged me all the way, Jodie… So so many beautiful people!!! […]

Leave a Reply

