Feeling powerful :)

10 07 2009

When I arrived in Ghana I got scared… At the beginning I hated to admit it. I blamed the country, I blamed the internet for not offering enough information about this “god damn place”, I blamed Microsoft for refusing me, and I blamed myself for deciding to come in such a place…

For one week I forgot how much I wanted to work for Ogilvy, I forgot that it was love at first sight with the job description; I forgot that I wanted my internship to change something in me… I forgot that it is my dream to live for a period of time on each continent… I forgot that it is in my power to be strong and happy!

It took one 50 min long walk from office to my new home, on the heaviest rain that I have experienced, for me to understand something important! I am here…  I am free… I am happy with my decision… Tonight, for the first time, I came alone from work, on foot. I felt powerful, because although it was raining like hell, I could find my way home alone. For the first time I felt that I can do this! I can open my eyes and really see this country… I can open up to this people… I can make new friends… I can win some… I may lose some… I can by myself… and most important… I can make this the best experience possible…

I arrived home totally soaked, with my music playing loud in my ears, singing 🙂 Ghana is growing on me… I feel like I can change the world… I wish this feeling to all interns in the world, that are homesick, that hate themselves for making a certain choice (but just in the first 2 weeks :P), that are scared, in a new country with a totally different culture…

Good luck to me and to us all!

Me adapting 🙂

PS: I promise that I will stop searching for plane tickets every hour 😛

Actions

Information

6 responses

10 07 2009
Moru

🙂 Ma bucur ca ai inceput sa privesti mai pozitiv totul. Sper ca nu cautai bilete sa te intorci acum curand, ca te bat! Stai acolo si enjoy… Ca nu esti singura, mai ai peste 70 de trainee, nu? 🙂

Ti pup,
Moru

10 07 2009
alexandrabirladianu

Cautam bilete pentru decembrie 🙂 Suntem mai multi de 77 acum, cel putin asa cred 🙂 Sa stii ca de tine mi-e cel mai dor :*

Ti pup,
Alexandra

10 07 2009
george

Suna a autosugestionare postul asta…

10 07 2009
alexandrabirladianu

:D, dar nu e 🙂 Ziua de azi e din ce in ce mai faina iar weekend-ul se anunta minunat. Chiar daca ploua torential 🙂 Ar trebui sa incerci si tu chestia asta candva 😛 S-ar putea sa iti placa 🙂

10 07 2009
Mariana Calin

Foarte frumos mail! Ce ma bucur pentru tine draguta!

Ti-as fi amintit si eu de ce esti acolo si de ce ar trebui sa fii happy dar vad ca ti-ai dat seama singura :p

Ti pup! Ai grija de tine!
Mariana

29 06 2010
Dear Ghana II « AlexandraBirladianu's Blog

[…] from a bucket, going to work for the first time and being afraid I won’t remember the way back, the first heavy rain, meeting KLepo, Sabine and Emma, Aqua and Lucia… The first trip to Nzulezu… Beautiful […]

Leave a Reply

