If life gives you lemons… make lemonade!!!!

20 07 2009

God thoughts before Alexandra’s coming to Ghana:

“So she thinks she is an AIESECer… she doesn’t need training or cultural preparation…  She was in 15 countries so far, she thinks she knows what a cultural shock is… She believes she is a survivor and nothing could break her spirit… So what should I do?…

I’ll break her laptop… one function at a time…

I’ll steal her iPod… it’s just the most personal and beautiful gift she has from her sister…

I’ll steal her favourite purse… why should she remember she has friends at home?

I’ll give her an ***** job… maybe she didn’t appreciate her MC term at its real value…

I’ll give her an annoying neighbour… she shouldn’t feel too comfortable in her own house…

She’ll meet a really great guy… He will leave after 2 weeks to his home country….

What else… let me think let me think…”

Hello my darling friends…

If you’re asking what I am doing… the answer is “not so well”. I started searching for plane tickets again…. I got robbed last evening… so again “Welcome to Ghana Alexandra!” I didn’t cry… I refuse to cry in this country…

If you want to go in an internship… choose Europe, choose Asia, choose anything you like… don’t choose Ghana! Still, if you want a life changing experience and you think Ghana is the place, leave any possessions you love at HOME. If you have shoes, clothes that you like, don’t bring them here, they will be ruined in a week… If you have an iPod, a phone, a watch, whatever… leave it home! Anything that you want to bring with you… just don’t… change your mind before it is too late!

So they stole my purse… What did I lose?

The purse – was a gift for my 24 years old birthday, from my best friends… how I loved it 😦

My iPod Nano – it was a gift from my sister, it was pink and had an inscription on it in Romanian saying how much she loves me… it was my favourite thing in the world 😦

My phone – It’s my mother birthday this week and I can’t even call her and tell her that I love her!

KLepo’s third phone – well… you have to ask him if it meant anything…

My house key – we had to break the door from my room… this was actually kind of fun!

My money – thank god I didn’t had too much with me, but still I don’t think I have enough money to survive till my first payment!

The trust I have in people – I don’t think I will recover it too soon!

If life gives you lemons make lemonade 🙂

Me not happy 😦

PS: I decided to consider this another experience that will beautifully shape my character until I will find what I am really looking for… It’s getting harder and harder 🙂

PPS: I actually had a great weekend before I got robbed 🙂

PPPS: 153 days, 4 hours, 54 minutes and 4 seconds until I will be in Romania again 😀

Actions

Information

11 responses

20 07 2009
Dea

Alexandra… capul sus si zambeste. Ai pierdut niste lucruri. Doar niste lucruri. Persoanele care ti le-au daruit nu s-au dus odata cu ele. Capul sus si ochii mari pentru a profita la maxim de experienta prin care treci. E o lectie de invatare destul de dura, dar ai sa o apreciezi abia spre sfarsit. Crede-ma! Am fost trainee de 2 ori. 🙂

Te salut din Paris (un fel de Ghana mea).

20 07 2009
alexandrabirladianu

🙂 E bine sa ai prietenii aproape in momente de genul asta 🙂 O sa fiu bine, inca nu mi-am pierdut optimismul de tot 🙂 Ti pup si Multumesc 🙂

20 07 2009
alexmoraru7

Hey!
I bet that your sister still loves you even if you don’t have the inscription iPod, I bet your mom knows how much you love her and she know;s you’ll be thinking about her all her birthday, I bet your friends still miss you and you don’t really need a bag to remember them (I bet that when you come home, they’ll wait for you with the exact bag at the airport :D)
You are still strong and your spirit is unbreakable so this experience is a whole, with the great people, the robbing, the boats, the friends that you make.
Hugs from my own Ghana, as Dea was saying, in Oslo!

21 07 2009
alexandrabirladianu

I feel a lot better today 🙂 I know that by the end of my internship, I will laugh about what happened on Sunday, and I will consider Ghana the best experience of my life… Nobody said it will be easy 🙂

20 07 2009
Codi

Intamplari de genul nu se intampla in special in Ghana. Se intampla peste tot in lume. Mie de exemplu mi s-a intamplat in Barcelona, pe plaja si am ramas fara bani si toate actele. Pe moment n-am avut un sentiment deloc fain, dar acum povestesc intamplarea cu umor si prin ce a trebuit sa trec dupa pt. a reveni in Madrid fara bani si fara acte. 🙂
Banuiesc ca acum iti tii cheile la gat ca in copilarie. 🙂

Enjoy this experience as much as u can! 😉

21 07 2009
alexandrabirladianu

I foarte mare dreptate Codi 🙂 Tocmai mi-am amintit de Ana in Brazilia, ca a patit cam acelasi lucru 🙂 Macar nu aveam pasaportul la mine 🙂

27 07 2009
ramo

“Copil mic” mi-e mila de tine, totusi cu trecerea timpului vei fi mandra de experienta ta, de felul in care ai ” crescut” acolo si te vei uita in urma cu nostalgie. Asa vezi cat de mult ii iubesti pe cei din jur si cat de mult insemni tu pentru ei, vei aprecia mai mult e viata ta in Romania si lucrurile mici vor capata insemnatate. E o experienta de viata , pe care multi si-ar dori sa o traiasca…bravo tie ca ai avut curajul sa o duci pana la capat! Iti tin pumnii! Big hug from Romania

27 07 2009
alexandrabirladianu

🙂 Sa nu iti fie mila de mine 😀 Eu am ales si nu imi pare rau… Lucrurile sunt doar foarte diferite si viteza mea de adaptare uneori nu e suficient de mare 🙂 Iti multumesc pentru imbratisare si te pup :*

28 07 2009
Gilbert Bader

i was checking something for Ghana and i came across your blog i was Ghana for 7 years then i mooved to Romania and i know how it is there.
i still like very much and i’m still in touch with freinds whome are staying there if u need anything let me know i can arrange it for you.
Enjoy it one bad expirience is not a reason be disapointed it is a nice country good expirience.(gilbertbader@yahoo.com)
Gilbert

28 07 2009
alexandrabirladianu

Thank you very much for your help offer 🙂 I already got over everything 😀 I met some really great people here so you don’t have to worry about me 😀 It is really great to meet people like this 🙂 How do you like Romania?

29 06 2010
Dear Ghana II « AlexandraBirladianu's Blog

[…] church every Sunday morning… the first Sunday was the worse… Learning how to negotiate, being robbed, watching men peeing on the street, falling in love with the country, getting Malaria, getting […]

Leave a Reply

