Patience…

26 11 2009

I don’t have the patience anymore. I don’t feel like laughing when I go home and there is no electricity and water. I am not amused when I want to buy something or go somewhere and the money they ask is the triple of the normal price. I am not ok anymore with the dust that surrounds my entire existence. I am sick of the unknown to me people that grab me on the street or feel the need to talk with me. I am sorry! I know they are trying to be friendly but I am tired of it.

The thing I hate the most is people talking in Twi about me in the tro tro and making jokes.  They look at me and

Patience

laugh. I speak to them in Romanian just to show them it’s weird when people do that to you. They ask if I insulted them. I ask: “Did you just insult me in Twi?” Thank God is not happening very often!

I have never been a party girl so by now I am bored with the party places in Accra. I like travelling but I finished seeing all I wanted to see and it’s no fun going to the same place more than twice. My job was never extremely exciting like AIESEC used to be, but it becomes more annoying every day. And I hate that.

The only thing I will miss about my experience here are my friends. We will all go to our home countries in the end but somehow I am positive we will meet again, somewhere, somehow!

I am more than ready to go home…  Although I am so scared! I don’t know if I will find a job or another internship. The idea of asking money from my family makes me really sick. They have always always been there for me, no matter what. But I am 25 now and I want to be ok on my own.

I have made plenty bad choices because I wasn’t patient enough… Rushing into things just because I hate the lack of action or not knowing what my next step should be. I always had a plan. In 2 year from now I will do that… in 200x I will be there. Not knowing and not having a plan from January 1 makes me scared. But I do hope my next step will not be made because of lack of patience!

The only thing I am certain about is that I will do my best. I still believe that good things happen to good people and I like to think about myself that I am a good individual.

Me trying to be patient! 🙂

Actions

Information

6 responses

26 11 2009
sorana

Cred ca (re)simt si eu prin tine bucuria revederii cu cei dragi. In 2007 ma intorceam din SUA dupa doar 3 luni printre straini, iar dorul de casa, de mancare normala, devenise apasator si simtem niste emotii nedefinite dar atat de puternice ca nu mai aveam stare. Intr-adevar, de oamenii speciali pe care i-am cunoscut acolo mi-a fost cel mai dor. Acum ii am pe Facebook si mai vorbim din cand in cand, cu aceeasi speranta ca … somewhere, somehow!

In privinta jobului, capul sus! Cu totii stim ca dureaza putin pana gasesti un post respectabil si in concordanta cu pregatirea si cunostintele tale. Iar parintii stiu asta cel mai bine!

Te-am pupat si have a safe trip home!

Astept numai vesti bune.

26 11 2009
alexandrabirladianu

Mersi mult de tot pentru incurajari 🙂 Si eu sper numai vesti bune 🙂 Ti pup

29 11 2009
Zazu

Cred ca e foarte natural sa simti aceste lucruri si experienta pe care ai trait-o acolo te-a schimbat mai mult decat crezi.

Stii training-ul ala de Cultural Shock? Era un grafic acolo care arata care sunt etapele si era fain ca dupa 6 luni se termina perioada aia mai grea si te adaptai. Bine ca pleci acum si nu mai stai inca o luna ca dupa aia iti era si mai greu sa te desprinzi. Teoretic vorbind.

Iti doresc foarte multa rabdare atunci cand ajungi acasa.

30 11 2009
alexandrabirladianu

Mersi mult de tot Zazu 🙂 E bine ca ai specificat “teoretic vorbind :)” Desi experienta mea aici e minunata, cu bune si cu rele, nu stiu daca as putea vreodata sa ma adaptez complet… si cand spun asta ma refer la a nu mai gasi lucruri care sa ma surprinda pozitiv sau negativ 🙂 Mult succes in Tanzania 🙂

1 12 2009
Aqua

Hey I just red your blog and somehow i feel the same or similar to you, all the time I was thinking that I love Ghana with culture, crazy rasta, nice art and so on….I was thinking I can live here and create my life and be happy, but one day I woke up and I was sick… I was so sick of all the dust, heat, people who try to be my husband, rice, traffic jam, I was sick of everything, so decided that there is time to come and there is time to go, so I will go…and let this Ghanaian experience be the best memory of my life

1 12 2009
alexandrabirladianu

My dear Aqua 🙂 It’s hard for me to imagine you being ready to go 🙂 You were the first person to tell me that I will fall in love with Ghana 🙂 But you are right 🙂 There is a time to come and a time to go 🙂 Love you tons :*

Leave a Reply

