The anatomy of optimism!

27 06 2011

I am very happy these days. It might be the excitement of new beginnings, that fact that I will have my own crib soon, spending time laughing out loud with my nephew and the dearest of my friends, the kitty with the orange ear, my parents joy knowing they will get rid of me soon 😀 I don’t know… but it’s nice to wake up with a smile, being less worried about the future and knowing that you finally found a place where you actually want to settle 🙂 It might also be the fact that now I know what I want to do with my life and what I want my legacy to be on this Earth 🙂 And I work actively to make it happen 🙂

I am also happy because some of the people I got to love and appreciate for the past year have some really great achievements with their names on. It feels good to know there are people out there that have the power to influence things for the better. It gives me hope although the political situation home and the stupidity, well expressed live, of our president, with every chance he gets, had me worried for a while.

But there are great people doing great things in Iasi and in the world. People I had the chance to know close, work with and learn from… and get to love and respect.

In Iasi its worth mentioning the team behind TEDx Iasi. Once again I am missing an event I would love to be present at and looking at the speakers list it makes me regret it even more. But there is another place I need to be 😦 Next time I do hope to be here…

I look with pride at AIESEC Iasi… It’s been such a long time since I was actively connected but it just feels good knowing that there are other young people there taking the organization further and further and doing things that in 2007 used to be sort of dreams. Yes, plenty of reasons to be happy about. If you are from Iasi and you don’t know what AIESEC Iasi is doing, maybe it’s time to get out of the house 🙂 These young people are one of Romania’s biggest hopes, along with their colleagues within the country…

Another group I like a lot is Oamenii din online. I was present at one of their workshops and it was great 🙂 I don’t know them personally but that doesn’t stop me from appreciating their work. The now Iasi is much more different that my university years. I know I am leaving it again soon but it feels good to know that there are people eager to make it awesome 🙂

I don’t want to forget Fundatia Comunitara Iasi. Here is the reason why. Educating the young and encouraging them to be actively involved in the development of the society creates better people. The younger the better! Young people should never wait for their university degree to be active citizens. Gaining trust in your own ability to move mountains and make it good should come as soon as possible. “Believing in you” it’s the most important feature a person should have.

I am sure that there are so many other groups/people working for the better of the society. I don’t know them all but I love reading about them and learning about their success. Their success it’s not just theirs, it’s the triumph of our society that finally learns that change comes from within and with effort and hard work.

Romania it’s not just the country of poor people, thieves, uneducated individuals, etc. It’s also the country of the young and the restless, of the bold and the beautiful, although not in the soap opera kind of way 😀 Romanians, living in Romania or not, are good people. We shouldn’t be judged for our president, even if he believes he speak in the name of the Romanian people. He stopped doing it a long time ago even if he hasn’t realized it yet. He is too old to change his way and looking at him speaking makes me feel he is too stupid to realize he has to! It’s sad but he is just one and I know so many other people that will never be like him.

The battle is long and not easy to win but we shouldn’t consider Romania dead yet. As long as there are people like the ones mentioned above, the war can still be successful for the good side. And all my childhood storied lead me to believe that good always wins against evil.

Regarding the Romanians that choose to live and run their battles outside I stopped judging them. I am one of them for a long time now, I don’t know for how long I will continue but I stopped and decided to look at the situation as a whole. I used to feel guilty about my decisions, about not being here, about not working here but I am not anymore. I am not abandoning the ship but rather move in other waters and fight from there. Our choices define us as individuals and I believe the importance lies with the choice to be good rather than the place where you choose to do it. It could be the moon for all I care. For me my world stopped being just Romania. As long as you stay true to yourself, you work hard and you believe there is nothing that can stop you. It gets hard sometimes, but if it would be easy our world wouldn’t be plagued with war, terrorism, hate and despair.

I am looking at the world as my home now. A playground for me to stay true to myself and make it better… Cause “It’s up to you!”*

The AIESEC Communication campaign I was recruited with 🙂 2005

In my case… it’s up to me 🙂

Good luck with your plans if they are for the better 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

