Under my umbrella :)

30 07 2011

There is no need to ask… me loves Brussels.

under my umbrella 🙂

I was reading an article today about how Brussels is like New York… and it had lots of comments on how dirty, ugly, small, smelly Brussels is… What I’ve learn in my life experience is that people see only what they want to see, and most of the times it depends on their mood. No place is perfect, no matter what we like to believe and I think the way we see everything is a very personal choice. Believe me, I was there. I am sure the friends I made in Ghana still remember my first weeks there and all the complaining I made… just as lots of posts about my life in India were angry and bitter. It’s not easy to adapt to new environments no matter how perfect they may be. Our perceptions are totally subjective and so very hard to control.

I like Brussels. I like the small streets with the cubical stone pavement. I like the cafes and the fact that there are so many types of beer to choose from. I like walking around and noticing so many different people. Different when it comes to their looks, their habits and believes… I like being anonymous, I like the parks and the people that ride bicycles. I like the sweets and the “boulangeries”, the pastry shop, The Grand Place and many many other things. It’s a place where you can melt in, observe and explore. I am not even tempted to be annoyed about the rain. Its just another part of Brussels 🙂

Tomorrow I am finally moving in my new place and I am excited to decorate it and transforming it into my home. I want to buy plants for my big window, I plan to cook every couple of days and write as often as possible in order to finish my big project as per my DL. I can just picture it, how it will smell and how it will become a part of me… Me obviously excited 😀

I like change. I’ve changed places so often in the last 3 or 4 years of my life that it has become a lifestyle. I would like on day to have the freedom to move around, 4 months here, 4 months there… and of course with one place that I can always return to…

Maybe Brussels will be the place where I can settle for a longer period of time. And explore Europe… I didn’t really focus on it so far. I already planned trips to Amsterdam, Lille, Paris and Switzerland… and that’s just till the beginning of October 😀

This FY is the year of the explorer…

Me happy 😀

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 08 2011
Tricia O.

Hey there, I found your blog while searching for blogs to follow that had Belgium and Brussels as tags/categories. It’s funny you mentioned the article…I live in Brooklyn (and have for 10 years) and am going to Brussels this September for a few month trial as an expat. I’ve been to Brussels 4 other times, usually as a 1 – 1.5 week vacation but this time I’m going for 2.5 months and staying with a Flemish friend.

I totally agree that people’s perceptions are different. I’ve read on so many travel sites how much people hate Brussels and think it’s boring. I say, they aren’t hanging out with the right people! I’ve always had a lot of fun there and was able to figure out cool stuff to do. All my friends and acquaintances there are designers and architects though, so that might contribute to the fun-ness, though.

Anyway, sorry for this to get so long, but I just wanted to say hello and thanks for writing about Brussels!

8 08 2011
Alexandra

Hi Tricia 🙂

I totally agree that when you go to a new place, the people are very important. I spent 6 months in Ghana and I had such a great time mostly because of the friends I made there 🙂 At the begining the environment was very hard for me to deal with but I meet this great group of people and everything changed. You see things diferently when you are laughing in good company 🙂
I hope you will have a great time with your friends, and who knows, maybe we will randomly meet on the streets of Brussels!

Have a great day,
Alexandra

Leave a Reply

