Switzerland – Lago Maggiore

13 03 2012

I have been blessed in my life with the opportunity to travel to 4 continents and over 20 countries but there is one place where I would go again and again, no matter what. I’ve been to Lago Maggiore in Switzerland thrice and I still am looking forward to my next trip. It is absolutely beautiful, so beautiful it became my picture of Heaven. If Heaven exists, than it must look like this 🙂

Image

It’s an amazing feeling waking up in the morning to the view the lake offers. Surrounded by mountains, with a tiny trace of fog, the sun shining over the lake… it’s just breath-taking. The mountains with the peaks covered by snow make a lovely contrast with the tropical and sub-tropical plants that grow year-round due to the Mediterranean-like climate.

When I go there, I normally fly to Milan. Brussels Airlines has very good fares and you don’t need to go to Charleroi as you can fly from Brussels airport to Malpensa. From there it’s a 2 to 3 hour ride to Ticino.

I recommend taking a car trip around the lake. It’s about 66-68 km. Make sure you stop in Ascona to admire the view there. Alex told me is perceived as a holiday spot for people that wish for calm holidays so don’t plan for a week long party if you decide to go 🙂

I would love to go for the International Film Festival in Locarno. It happens yearly in August, since 1946. Imagine watching a movie in Piazza Grande that offers the largest open air screens in the world (26×14 meters), together with 8000 other people. I am not sure it could happen but what a great view it could be 🙂

Ok, my day dreaming moment is over 🙂 Back to Brussels where the weather is friendly and the people even more 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

