Welcome to the Citadel of Dinant :)

13 04 2012

I love one day trips. You don’t get tired or bored and with enough research, you can have a lovely time outside the city. We went to Dinant last weekend and I have to say… it is a beautiful place to spend the day 🙂 And yes, I will go again as soon as it gets sunny and my friend(s) come(s) visiting… From Brussels there are trains every hour and a round trip is about 13 euros. You will be there in one hour and a half.

View from the citadel

View from the citadel

Don’t eat at the “Le Bariton”. It wasn’t really bad but it wasn’t good either and if you are a foodie, like me… you will feel like you wasted your money. Better stop at the chocolate place 2 doors before and enjoy a nice ice-cream, waffles and other goodies they have there. It was divine 🙂 We didn’t try the restaurants up at the citadel, we were all way to hungry to wait… but I will do it for sure next time.

To visit the citadel, the ticket is about 8 euros… You can climb the 408 steps or you can take the “elevator”… I admit, I took the elevator but I wanted to enjoy the view without struggling to catch my breath 😀 I did take the stairs down and I felt my knees cursing every 2 minutes… but the view is so amazing that it was worth it.

What else?

  • Adolphe Sax was born in Dinant in 1894.  He is the inventor of the saxophone and other musical instruments.
  • Because much of the town was burnt down by German soldiers in 1914, the local authorities have allowed a German flag to be flown amongst all the other European flags which decorate the bridge across the river Meuse only in the year 2000.

We also tried to visit “The Marvellous Grotto of Dinant” but we were there after 5:30 and it was too late to do it. I guess this is yet another reason to go again. I’ve read the grotto was discovered in 1904 and it is considered one of the most beautiful grottoes in Belgium. I haven’t been in a grotto since I was 5 but I still remember how it felt to look at stalactites and wonder how they got there. I wonder if it will feel the same 🙂

For more info, historical facts and pictures go here or here. You can find some of my pictures here, if the slide show decides to work at some point 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

