Holiday, Paris and Family

18 03 2014

Beginning of the month, for the first time since I left home in 2008, my family came to visit me. We spent 4 days in Paris and 3 in Brussels and it’s an experience that will probably not happen again anytime soon. The trip, of course, brought back memories…

While they were here, I realized that my family and I were never on a holiday together… unless we consider one weekend somewhere in the Romanian mountains, when I was a child.  I remember it was beautiful and I wanted to sleep in a canopy bed, but my parents didn’t like the host and we ended up traveling 3 more hours, visiting friends. We laughed a lot and it felt good.

I also  remembered being a kid, my dad promising we will go to the seaside in the summer and me packing my bags 5 months in advance. That trip never happened. Romanians, I believe, are all about priorities and vacations were never one where I come from. And that is ok. I guess this is one of the reasons I constantly plan my next big trip, the next city break, the next adventure. Always a restless soul, checking the world map, HolidaysPirates and airbnb.

I don’t know how I feel about being in Brussels for almost 3 years now. It’s maybe time to move on but it’s hard to let go. I think “contentment” can be considered a “worst” enemy! I never want to say, with a bland smile on my face, “I am content”. I want to burst into laughter, smile and show all my teeth and say “I am deliriously happy”… with my home, my city, my career, and the list may go on. I sometimes feel I am in my “I am content” stage of life…. And I am not happy.

But back to Paris, holiday and family. It was lovely and I have a few photos to prove it. It was my family’s first time and Paris, and when my sister was not complaining about one thing or another, we all enjoyed it. Mario was amazing… I don’t think many 9 years old feel “Musée du Louvre”, “Château de Versailles” and “La tour Eiffel” are way cooler than Disneyland… and this makes me a very proud aunt! 😀  “La Basilique du Sacré-Cœur de Montmartre” was my favorite sight, the area is just beautiful. Too bad it was surrounded by booze, cigarette butts and trash… I wish people would show more respect… you don’t have to be religious to do it.

Musée du Louvre

Musée du Louvre

Mairie du Ier arrondissement de Paris

Mairie du Ier arrondissement de Paris

Cloudy with a chance of…

Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Paris

L’Arc de triomphe de l’Étoile

DSCN2041

View from “La Tour Eiffel”

DSCN2046

La Tour Eiffel

DSCN2066

DSCN2081

Close to Trocadéro

Lessons in negotiation in the Paris metro 🙂

Basilique du Sacré-Cœur de Montmartre

Basilique du Sacré-Cœur de Montmartre

DSCN2255

Childhood

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

