Dreaming of Lisbon

15 06 2014

I felt in love with Lisbon on May 11th. The atmosphere, the architecture, the narrow streets and large squares, the historical trams, the food, the people… Lisbon is a mix of breathing history, breathtaking views points, long walks, ice cream and “death by pasteis de nata”! Mmmm… I should start my every Sunday with a visit to Pastelaria Garcia!

We went for a long weekend, without any plans. We just wanted pasteis de nata from Belem and to walk around the city, enjoying the weather, the colors and being carefree.

From live music to graffiti, rides with Trams 15 and 28, the São Jorge Castle, small souvenirs shops, Café A Brasileira (disappointing service), the Pharmacia Restaurante (a must!) and the Santini’s Gelato (I never had to queue so long for ice-cream:) ), everything was perfection. I kept thinking how lovely it would be to actually live there.

As a child, I wanted to go and live 6 months in all the big cities in Romania. I think everything feels different when you are “become a local”. I imagined how I would go, rent a house and go exploring the neighborhoods one by one, at my own pace, walking… I am very fond of walking 😀

As an adult, I am often thinking how it would be like to just go, take a leap of faith, say … OK, I’m moving to Lisbon, Stockholm, Ko Samui, etc… If my 20s are all about traveling, maybe my 30s should be all about temporary “settling” in different parts of the world and explore the culture as a local.

I am only sorry I didn’t take better pictures, as mine don’t do justice to beautiful Lisbon 🙂

My postcards collection

My postcards collection

Can I have one? Lady, you have to learn how to swim properly first!

Can I have one? Lady, you have to learn how to swim properly first!

“death by pasteis de nata” at Belem

“death by pasteis de nata” at Belem

Lisbon art

Lisbon art

View from the top

View from the top

Care to dance?

Care to dance?

This is how a balcony should look like!

This is how every balcony should look like!

Shortest tram ride ever :)

Shortest tram ride ever 🙂

If you would like to hug a tree, this is the place :)

If you would like to hug a tree, this is the place 🙂

This is not goodbye!

This is not goodbye!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

